First Presbyterian Church
Worship About FPC Groups Photos Messenger Sitemap

Sunday, June 17 — The 4th Sunday after Pentecost Vacation Bible School Program: “Shipwrecked: Rescued by Jesus” Scripture: selections from the Gospel according to Luke and the Acts of the Apostles

Sunday, June 24 — The 5th Sunday after Pentecost The Sacrament of the Lord’s Supper 8:30 a.m. — Morning Prayer in the Chapel Scripture: 2 Samuel 9:1-13, James 2:14-19, Lamentations 3:22-26 Theme: Sharing a Square Meal 10:30 a.m. — Lord’s Day Worship in the Sanctuary Scripture: 2 Samuel 9:1-13, Lamentations 3:22-26, Mark 2:13-20 Sermon: Feasting and Fasting Liturgist: Barb Yonker

Weekly Calendar

Worship Service Broadcast Schedule Salem Time Warner Channel 9
*Schedule subject to change
Sunday – 1 & 9 am / Monday — 1am Tuesday – 3 am, 12 & 4 pm / Wednesday – 1 am, 4 & 9 pm Friday – 1 am / Saturday – 3 am, 12 & 4 pm


About FPC

Rev. Meta S. Cramer, Pastor First Presbyterian Church Salem, Ohio Rev. Meta S. Cramer, Pastor

Our Ministry

At First Presbyterian Church of Salem, “our” ministry really is “our” ministry! Presbyterians believe that no one person has all the knowledge or skills that are needed to serve Jesus Christ in the way we want to serve him. We believe that we make the best decisions when we make them in conversation with one another. In fact, we believe that the Holy Spirit speaks to us most clearly as we listen to each others’ viewpoints.

Decisions in the Church are made by a group called the “Session.” The Session is made up of members of the Church, both men and women, who are elected by the congregation. These persons are then ordained as “elders” who are recognized as having gifts of leadership. The pastor is also a member of the Session.

“Deacons” are also ordained church members. Our Board of Deacons carries out a ministry of sympathy and service. They are concerned to care for the members of the congregation, especially those who are sick or bereaved.

Members of the Session serve as chairpersons, or “moderators,” of the committees of the church. Our committees include:
Worship, Music and the Arts
Christian Education
Mission Interpretation and Stewardship
Congregational Care
Finance and Administration
Property and Maintenance

Each committee includes elders, deacons, and other members of the congregation who have an interest in that committee’s work.